Today I finally bought the ingredients for a turkey and sweet leek pie I saw Jamie Oliver cook on one of his Christmas specials. I didn’t have time to roast a turkey so I used roast chicken instead, and it turned out pretty darn good. As you can see from my craptastic photography; I am a better cook than a picture snapper. I need a better camera, but that’s another story.

The filling was fresh thyme, roast chicken, and leeks cooked in butter and olive oil. Once the leeks are tender, you dump in chicken broth, and a little flour to make a gravy. You strain the gravy from the solids and place the leek/chicken mixture in a pan, then cover it with puff pastry studded with chestnuts, and sage. Bake for 40 minutes, and scarf it down. I am sure Jamie Oliver’s version with turkey tasted better, but for my first try, this one was a hit. The only problem with it was that the serving size is for 6 – 8 people. After we fed ourselves and the couple next door, we still have enough for one or two more meals. I guess that’s not too bad. Now I need a nap.