Today was kind of all over the place. I really dislike football so I didn’t bother to watch the Super Bowl. I did hear about Christina Aguilara butchering the National Anthem, so I looked it up on YouTube, and I think she needs to apologize for it. I can see a few mistakes from a non-professional, but she is a winner of hundreds of Grammy awards so the woman knows how to sing. If she wasn’t drunk, then she needs to apologize for completely failing at singing out nation’s anthem. If a person is asked to sing the National anthem in a public place, they need to sing it right, and shut the hell up. It pisses me off when people give their rendition of the song and fuck it all up. That’s all I have to say about that.

I tried another batch of biscuits today, and they turned out fantastic. The recipe was pretty much the same as the last batch. This time I doubled the amount of buttermilk, and put the butter in the freezer the night before so it would be REAL cold. I think I ate four of them for breakfast. The only thing that could have made them better would be a little gravy. I still have half a dozen, so maybe I’ll make some tomorrow. I tried to make a few things with the pig’s tongues I cooked Saturday, but they all tasted a little bland. I guess the beef tongues have more flavor because they are larger. I don’t know? Maybe pigs don’t use their tongues like cows do so they don’t get as much exercise? Either way, I don’t think I’ll be cooking any more pig tongues. Beef tongues may look funny, but they taste pretty damn good in tacos.

Yesterday I ordered a 52oz. Bubba Keg, and two books from Amazon. One book was Biscuit Bliss: 101 Foolproof Recipes for Fresh and Fluffy Biscuits in Just Minutes by James Villas, and the other was Charcuterie: The Craft of Salting, Smoking, and Curing by Michael Ruhlman. I can’t wait until they get here. The bubba keg will support my drinking habit. No not that kind of drinking habit. Ever since my face got all freezer burned in the last cold snap, I have been drinking about 100 ounces of water per day. Keeping up with hydration has actually made me feel a lot better. The bubba keg will just cut down on the trips to the Britta. Right now I am re-purposing a Subway cup, but I know that’s not supposed to be good for you. It’s kinda funny. They server you a drink in a cup once, but using the cup twice can kill you? A least the bubba keg will fit in the dish washer. Other than that, all I did this weekend was watch a little television, and studied.

