Well happy St. Patrick’s Day. Too bad most of the world views this day as a reason to get drunk and act stupid. What will I be doing? I’ll be cooking dinner for my family. I will be preparing some corned beef, cabbage, along with some neeps and tatties “turnips and potatoes”. I have been doing a lot of reading on foraging lately, and I will also be serving a salad of dandelion greens picked straight from the back garden. I’ve always wanted to try them, but never knew how to prepare them. Well its simple really, all you have to do is pick some dandelions, wash them, and then toss them with some lemon juice and olive oil. The whole plant is edible, but I am only after the leaves. It’s kind of funny when I think about how many of them I have pulled out of the garden and tossed in the yard waste. All this time, I could have been feasting.

