I seem to be on a Greek style food kick. Over the past few weeks, I’ve made Greek style chicken, which was amazing, and really simple.  I made a round of lamb kabobs with parsley tomato, and lemon juice, that was equally good, and today I made little kabob kinda things without the skewer with veal parsley, and lemon juice that was pretty damn good as well. I like the fresh taste of the chopped herbs, and the lemon juice mixed in with the meat. I’m also getting good at making Tzatziki Sauce. It tastes good on all kinds of things. Too bad lemons are so expensive up here, or I would make more.

Have, ahve a taste…it goes great with grilled beef, lamb, or veal burgers.

Tzatziki Sauce

Ingredients

2 (8 ounce) containers plain yogurt

2 cucumbers – peeled, seeded and diced

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 lemon, juiced

salt and pepper to taste

1 tablespoon chopped fresh dill

3 cloves garlic, peeled

Directions

1. Peel and grate the cucumber. I use a box grater, but a food processor is fine too.

2. Place the grated cucumber in a colander and add a teaspoon of salt. This draws out some of the excess moisture, and keeps the sauce from getting watery.

3. Once the cucumber has drained for about ten minutes, squeeze it by hand to remove as much water as possible. This will drain away any leftover salt.

4. Now add the cucumber to a bowl, and mix in all of the rest of the ingredients. Mix well, then let chill in the refrigerator for an hour or so to let the flavors meld together. “I eat mine right away, but it does taste better if it sits.”

