It’s been a while so I should say something. I made it through the first week without any thing crazy happening. This quarter is going to be kind of odd. I only go to class two days a week for microbiology. The  class is two hours of lecture, and a two hour lab. For the lab, we set up our
experiments on Tuesday, and then look at them Thursday after they’ve had a chance to sit in the incubator. So far it’s pretty interesting, but we are not required to show up for the lecture? The professor is a real brilliant guy; he has a PHD in microbiology, and has even spent time as the dean of most of the medical programs. He has spent a lot of time automating most of the course to the point where he told us not to buy the text book. His lectures are all in PDF, audio, power point form, so we can learn all we need from that. I’m still a little shaky on the format; I feel like I am making the class harder than it needs to be, but then again, we’ve only been to two classes so far. Every quarter is like this, and they always seem to settle down after a bit. Chemistry has returned to bit me in the ass, because the only questions I got wrong on the first quiz were chem related. That’s fine; I can take them as many times as I want, and when the window closes, he will take the highest score.

My second class is Nutrition, and is completely on line. The only contact I’ve had with the class or the instructor has been through on-line introductions we all did. Other than that, I feel like I am sitting in an empty room, even though I am sitting in an empty room when I am working at home. This class is basically read – take quiz – turn in 1.5 to 2 page papers once a week. The end. I don’t know if I like on-line classes. I tend to learn more when there is real live interaction. I still have a bunch of work to do this weekend, so it doesn’t look like there will be any Fourth of July festivities this year. I might BBQ something, but that’s about it. I still have some fireworks left over from last year, so maybe I’ll use those up.

