Yeah I know I said I would write something in the morning, but I’ve been busy. To catch you up with school, I dropped my micro biology class. I like the instructor, but I didn’t like the way the class was structured. I thought I would like not having a book, but as the class progressed, I felt like I was missing something. He gave us his version of the course information, and all of the lectures were on line, but I still felt like I wasn’t getting everything I needed. Now that I dropped another summer class, the financial aid department at school is all butt hurt again. I am back on financial aid suspension…again. I had to pay for my fall classes on my own which was fucking expensive, and I will have to make up a five unit class before they will give me any more money…Again. I kept my nutrition class. It’s completely online, and I have no contact with anyone else in the class. I even have to email my instructor if I have any questions, and it usually takes her four or five days to respond. I am doing pretty well in the class, but I feel like I am sitting in an empty room. I don’t think I am going to take any more online classes. I need some interaction with fellow students and an instructor. I guess I’ll take Micro again sometime.

My Micro professor used to be the dean of the nursing program here at Clark, so he asked us a bunch of questions about how we were preparing for the nursing program. He asked how many people were planning on applying to the Nursing program at Clark, and most of us raised our hands. He then asked if anyone had looked at any other schools in the area, and no one had. He then said that Clark’s program was really good, but there were about three hundred students waiting for an opening. He then said we would have a better chance if we applied to all of the local schools, and took the first opening available. All of the other schools have to teach the same material by law, so the curriculum is all the same. That sounds like a good idea. However, that would require me to have a degree before applying. I had been following a plan that would have given me a  degree upon completing the nursing program. In order to apply to a different school, I will need to have a degree in my hand before. This means I need to change my path, and will have to take a few more classes to complete my degree. I need two more math classes, two foreign language classes, one more science, and one more humanities class. That’s a lot, and it puts off my entering the nursing program by another year. I don’t know if I’m up for that. I’m starting to get tired of the whole school thing again. I’m sick of being broke all the time. All I want is a job that pays money. I want to take a freaking vacation. It’s been over three years since I’ve done anything fun. Cabin fever sucks ass when you can’t do anything about it.

As for home, we finally had some lightning the night before last. Good enough that at around 4am, a bolt of lightning streaked over the house, and sounded like an explosion in the back yard. Me being dead asleep, it scared the shit out of me, and ruined a good dream. It was raining, so I went out to roll up the windows in my Jeep. While I was outside you could smell the ozone in the air from the lightning. I haven’t smelled that since I was in the Army, and living in Oklahoma. The next morning, the news showed a huge tree in Portland that had been hit by the sam lightning that cracked over the house. The whole top had been blown off, and was all over the owner’s front yard. I’m sure glad lightning prefers the taste of hippies to us normal folks on this side of the river.

