Summer Quarter 2011 – Notice of Financial Aid
Suspension                                                                                                                                                              

September 16, 2011

Dear KEVIN LETTERMAN:

A review of your academic record shows that you did not meet all Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) standards for SUMMER quarter and you have been placed on financial aid suspension. As of the date of this letter you are no longer eligible for financial aid – that includes grants, loans and work-study.

Badass, I have a 3.5 GPA, but I’m a piece of shit for dropping an accelerated whacky hybrid micro biology class I signed up for over the summer. I got an A in the other summer class? It looks like I will have to beg and plead with someone on Monday to re-instate my financial aid. If I can’t, then I’ll have to drop my fall schedule, and try to sell back my books (because I’ll need the cash while I find a job). The classes I was supposed to start in one week are part of a string of classes that need to be taken one after another, so if I can’t afford to stay now it looks like I am done with school. I have burned through my savings trying to make all this happen, and without financial aid, I’m out of the game. It’s funny; when I started school, I thought the classes would be hard. The classes were hard, but paying for the classes would be harder. The part that sucks the most is the fact that I was only a few quarters away from graduating. Maybe that will play in my favor when the begging begins.

I’m sure glad they decided to send me this at 5:30 on a Friday afternoon. And exactly one day after I blew $300.00 on books for Fall. And thank god I tried to be diligent buy opening those books, so I could read ahead, and prepare for the first day of school. Now that the plastic is off, I can’t return them. I know one thing. Going back to school has been the biggest roller coaster of a pain in the ass I have ever dealt with.

