Breakfast experiment: Italian omelet Letterman style. It wasn’t too bad either….

After I shoved this in my face, I tried to make Christmas cookies. “Tried” would be a nice term for what I did. I used two different recipes from trusted recipe sites, and they both tasted like shit. The first batch was supposed to be a chocolaty shortbread type that called for ground up Mexican hot chocolate mix. The cookies didn’t cooperate, and deflated like an old tire. They are so sweet I can only eat a bite or two before I get woozy. The second batch was supposed to be plain ole short bread cookies. They mixed up ok, but I am always suspicious when a recipe calls for 10 – 14 minutes, and they take more like 20 – 30 minutes before they stop looking like dough. I tried one as soon as they came out of the oven, and other than the flour/roux flavor, there is no flavor at all. I may keep them for thickening soup. I still have four more recipes, but I think I’ll hang up my cookie apron, and go back to cooking meat, and things that contain meat.

Looks more like something you clean up after a party than cookies.

