Here are some movies I have watched, and my crappy review of them.

I seem to be on an old 70’s Bostonish Irish mob kick. I used to hate the seventies, and everything that happened during that time, but lately I have been spending a lot of time reading about the mobsters, and the people who grew up in the Boston projects during that time. Something about the grit and the attitude appeals to me. After reading The Friends of Eddy Coyle, which was an amazing book about crooked FBI agents, and wise guys, I decided to rent the movie. Well, as usual the movie didn’t compare to the book, but I guess I still liked it because of the inner city filth.

 

The Friends of Eddy Coyle

(1973) Starring: Robert Mitchum, and Peter Boyle

I hate to steal a snippet from a Netflix user review, but this is the movie exactly. “A great 1970’s classic crime drama set in Boston that has a gritty, realistic script. The movie shows the relationship between the FBI, the crooks, the hitmen, and the informers”. Exactly! The book is all about the dialogue between all of these scumbags, and how they lie cheat, and steal to get ahead. None of them gives a crap about the other guy, as long as they get what they want, and everyone else keeps their mouth shut. The movie did an ok job of representing the book, and I liked seeing these cheesy underworld guys doing what they do best. As with most of the movies filmed in the 70’s it’s not as violent as you would think a mobster movie should be, but that OK. I liked it, but I don’t think I would add it to the collection.

 

 

 

 

Straight Time

(1978) Starring: Harry Dean Stanton, Thesesa Russell, Dustin Hoffman, Gary Busey, and even Kathy Bates.

This is a movie about an ex-con (Dustin Hoffman) who is released from prison, and quickly figures out that he is incapable of making an honest living. His parole officer is an asshole, and is constantly using the system to control Hoffman, so he gets together with some of his old criminal friends, and goes on a crime spree. Together they rob a bank, and get away, but the next job falls apart, people get killed, and Hoffman ends up on the run more than ever.

The first time I watched this movie, the only thing I could think of was how hysterical the clothes were. It wasn’t until I watched it a second time that I got drawn in by the story. I never heard of the movie back when it came out in the theater, and I don’t know that it did very well once it did release. I see it as another cheesy/gritty movie about robbing, and thieving, and that’s all I was looking for when I rented it. Over all I think it was a good one time movie even though I watched it twice.

