I swear I hate math and all it stands for! Thank God I waited 25+ years to finish college, because there is nothing better than being bested by a problem easily solved by an eleven year old. One out of one hundred and two problems is making me want to break something. I completed all of the rest at about two minutes each. This one has been fiddled with about fifty times with no results! Now I feel like a complete moron. Logic gave me the answer! Can I get from the description to the answer….NO! FML!

“The sum of the reciprocals of two consecutive even integers is 7/24. Find each integer.”

1/x + 1/x+2 = 7/24

The friggin answer has to be 1/6, 1/8.

1/6 + 1/8 = 7/24   lcd = 24

3+4 = 7   –>   7 = 7  🙂

How I can show this is beyond me. Now that I feel completely useless, I’m going to go eat something, and forget all of this nonsense.

