Here is a movie I have watched, and my crappy review of it.

The Other F Word

(2011) Cast: Tony Hawk, Flea, Mark Mothersbaugh, Mark Hoppus, Art Alexakis, Rick Thorne, Fat Mike, Joe Escalante, Brett Gurewitz, Matt Freeman

Basically the movie is about a bunch of old punk rockers that’ve grown up and become family men. The whole punk scene back then was fuck everything, and now the “F-word” is fatherhood. When I first saw the trailer for this movie I was excited. You could say I dabbled in the punk scene back in the mid-eighties, and it looked like a movie about some of the heroes of my youth, and what they were doing now that they are grown. Well, kind if. It seemed that the majority of the movie was about Jim Lindberg from Pennywise (I never liked Pennywise), and the rest were just kind of thrown in for fluff. Some of the people in the film were not even members of punk bands (or bands that I never thought of as “punk”). Some of the people like Ron Reyes from Black Flag were hardly mentioned, and Mark Mothersbaugh from Devo was definitely not. All Mark did was say a few sentences, and he’s on the major credit list. Come to think of it, I never liked most of the bands in this film. It was good to see Flea (Red Hot Chili Peppers) and his family, and the little bit of Ron Reyes, but I was hoping to see more. There were some funny scenes like when Fat Mike (NOFX) walked his daughter down the street from his San Francisco home to the local play ground. Of course he’s all decked out in boots, multi-colored pants, and spiky hair, so when he get to the playground the other parents grabbed up their kids and left. His response was “See, all you need is a punk rocker, and a camera crew, and you get the playground to yourself”.

I guess the people I was really hoping to see are all either still fucked up or dead. In a way I guess I can’t be mad…I still have all the music on my IPod, but I haven’t listened to it in ages. My hair is still short only because I’m going bald…I can’t remember the last time I was in a mosh pit, or in a fight. The last boots I wore were Army boots. I guess I’ve grown up as well. Maybe I was hoping for more, so I could pry some of those old memories loose from the back on my head. After watching the movie for a second time, I guess I’m glad these guys are living normal lives now, because back then none of us thought we would ever live this long….

I don’t know if this is a real movie review or not. I didn’t want to like it, but I guess I did. I don’t know if I would jump up and down with anticipation if I got to see it again, but it was OK.

