Hmm, I just realized I haven’t really posted anything other than food movie links in a long time. I even slacked off on y movie reviews (I have two to write).

Currently I am finishing up my fourth week of the new winter quarter. I’m not taking a heavy load. I am taking twelve units, but it’s only two regular classes, and part two of a keyboarding class. The keyboarding class can be done at home so I don’t consider that part of my regular schedule.

One of my classes is called MOAP, which stands for Medical Office Administrative Procedures. This is the class where I get to learn how a medical office works. We learn everything from privacy laws to scheduling, rooming patients, and even setting up new medical offices. It’s a lot of work, but no one part of it is overly difficult. Most of the customer service material I learned through previous jobs. All I have to do is apply it to a medical setting.

The second class is business English. Let me tell you….I thought I was pretty good with the English language, but now that I’ve been in this class for a few weeks, I realize I am just a chimp with a keyboard. I should know all of these grammatical rules, but since the majority of the population of the United States doesn’t. This makes me sound like a boob when I use correctly constructed sentences. The class looks like it is going to be pretty frustrating, but in the end, I will learn how to be a better writer. Being a better writer will keep me from looking like an idiot when I write anything pertaining to a medical office.

 

On the blood front, everything is finally settling down. Now that I’ve put a leash on my eating and sleeping habits, my blood sugar has stabilized. I still have a month to go before I have to get another complete blood panel done, but I’m sure my cholesterol levels have dropped along with my blood pressure. My A1C reading from my last blood test was 12 which is double the normal level. I can’t wait to see what it is now that I’ve been eating healthier and sleeping more.

