Today I bought the final link in the heat chain. It’s called Doubanjiang. It’s a fiery paste made with chilies and fermented broad beans, and is mainly used in Sichuan cooking. It’s pretty hot, but has a nice flavor. When I got home from the market, I whipped up a bowl of fried tofu, long beans, ham, bean sprouts, onion, and Bok Choy. Oh course I had to dump in a bunch of hot stuff like chili oil, Sichuan peppercorns, super hot sliced chilies that were packed in oil, and of course the Doubanjiang. I knew I was on to something, because by the time I was half way through my lunch, my lips were numb, my mouth was on fire, and I had to get a towel to wipe the sweat off my face. Judging by the sweat/burn I got the spice level just right. hahahahaha

IMG_1897

I probably should have cleaned up the bowl a little better before taking the picture, but I was in a hurry to eat my new fiery creation.

