So for the past few days I have been battling this mystery, blistery rash. I have no idea what caused it other than probably stress, but it has been steadily getting worse. Last night I slept pretty good, but when I woke up this morning my hands were swollen and my fingers looked like sausages. I washed my hands off and noticed that my wrists ached. I also noticed the rash had traveled up my arm to just past the elbow. So I decided to take a trip to the Emergency Room. I have been monitoring my breathing, and heart rate (both seemed fine), but with the swelling I didn’t want to wait four more days to see my regular doctor at the free clinic. The ER doctor ruled out a few really bad possibilities, and then settled with a diagnosis of “A rash”. I got some steroidal cream and some NSAIDS (Advil) to fight the itching, swelling, and to hopefully stop it from spreading.

Now after $80.00 in drugs and a few hours, the swelling has gone down about 50%, and the redness is beginning to go away. Hooray for drugs! There is still a slight itch in parts of my hands, but for the most part the rash seems to be calming down. If it doesn’t clear up in a few days, I will have to go back for a more aggressive treatment. I wish I knew what caused it to go nuts, but I’m glad it seems to be going away.

 

IMG_2315

