walter mitty  This is my first crappy movie review of 2014. Enjoy ~

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (2013)

Starring:Ben Stiller, Kristen Wiig

WOW! This is the first movie review of the New Year, and it was a whopper. Let me begin this crappy review/blog post with the words HOLY SHIT! I swear my eyes must have been like dinner plates while I was watching this movie. What did I see? Oh yeah, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty. I thought it was the best movie I’ve seen in a long time. It has nothing to do with the 1947 Danny Kaye version which would normally annoy me, but this time I’ll let it slide.

Walter Mitty (Ben Stiller) is a nobody who works for Life magazine. He handles all of the picture negatives for the magazine. He’s also the only one who handles all of the pictures for a specific and very famous photographer (Sean Penn). Walter constantly daydreams about being someone, and basically lives out fantasies in the pictures that surround him work.  I’m not going to give away the whole movie, but basically something happens that throws Walter head first into a real life daydream where he ends up learning a lot about himself and the world. The adventure takes him from the US to Iceland, the Himalayas, and even into the ocean.

I hate comparing myself to fictional characters in movies, because they are…..fictional. However this movie was different. I seem to be exactly like Walter Mitty. No, I don’t look like Ben Stiller or work for Life magazine. I HAVE been “close” to nowhere or done anything spectacular in my forty-six years. I haven’t traveled much except for one trip to Mexico about 12 years ago. I have however traveled the world. My adventures have been through the camera lenses, blogs, and travel shows of others. Their travel has in a way been my travel. I know more about the remote places in the world now more than ever thanks to the internet/TV.

You may be thinking that sounds kind of sad, but I don’t think so. Thanks to other people’s willingness to share their exotic trips, I now have an enormous bucket list of places to see, smell, and taste. Someday I might see them first hand but if I don’t that’s fine, because in a way I’ve already been there. Excellent movie. Well written. Awesome soundtrack. The movie reassured me that it’s OK to have an imagination. Now I need to figure out how to get to Australia, Vietnam, England, Ireland, Scotland, France, and a few other places so I can begin checking off my own bucket list. Thanks to the people I mentioned earlier, I already know where to go. It would be fun to travel with someone, but if I don’t I can show someone else my travels then it would be just like they were with me all the time.

If you like movies about adventure, I would highly recommend this one.

