Not feeling safe in my own house? Not anymore. About a week ago we heard some loud pounding on the front door at 2:00am. We all got up. I told Mom to stay away from the front door while I got my flashlight and some protection. I tried to get a look outside the stupid window that’s right next to the front door, but of course I was blinded by the damn porch light. When I determined that no one was still there, I opened the door and took a look around. The street was quiet. No sound at all. If someone was playing games and running away I would have heard their footsteps. No biggie. I figured it was just kids playing games. I used to play doorbell ditch when I was a kid, so I can’t be too mad right?

Well a few days later I was walking in the front door and noticed there were four or five foot prints on the front door. That means whoever was at the door earlier wasn’t knocking. It looks like someone was trying to kick in the front door. That angers me. You hear of home invasions all the time up here in the friendly Pacific Northwest. People are being strong armed and all of their possessions are taken which usually includes any prescription drugs that may be in the medicine cabinet.

Now I actually stop and look at anything driving or walking past the house as a possible future intruder out looking for his next meal ticket. Now, for the first time in my life, I am keeping a loaded firearm alarmhandy instead of safely locked up. I’ve never had to do that before. It really pisses me off that I have to do this. We live in a pretty nice neighborhood, but there are still a lot of shitheads living close by. In the last few years the houses around me have had their cars broken into, gas stolen from cars, and our mail boxes have even been broken into. Did I mention this really pisses me off. I may be considered a loser for living with my elderly mother at my age, but I’m glad I was here last weekend.

Now tomorrow I will be buying a new mini blind for the window next to the door so no one can look in while we are not awake, AND so I can safely look out to see who might be pounding on my door if they decide to come back. Your average assholes, like the ones who pounded on my door in the middle of the night, are just out looking for an easy meal. That is not me. I’m going to be a real expensive meal once that door opens.

Why can’t people act like human beings instead of parasites.

