caduceusSo yeah, I haven’t posted a regular blog post in ages. It seemed like posting every day or close to every day started sounding the same. So let me catch you all up (if you care). Last Spring, I graduated from Clark College. That summer I finished my extership at a family practice office close to my house. I finally got my degree “hooray”.

Then I took the month of October off, because it seemed like the thing to do. The first week of December I pulled a muscle in my lower back and was pretty much off my feet for December, January, and part of February. I thought it was a kidney stone at first, but the doctor told me I strained the Quadratus Lumborum, which is the large muscle that attached to your spine and spans from basically your waist to the bottom of your rib cage. That muscle pretty much allows you to bend at the waist. Every time I tried to stand for long periods of time, got up from a chair, or got into bet it felt like I got stabbed in the side with rail road spike. Now that the muscle has healed, I can get around without looking like I’m 1000 years old.

In January I took the Medical Assistant certification exam. I passed. I was a wreck the night before the exam. I couldn’t sleep as usual. I finally fell asleep about three hours before the exam. I still don’t know how I pulled it off. Anyway, now I have an official title CMA(AAMA). Sweeet! Now I can look for work. In fact, today I have a telephone interview with a family medicine office right over the border in NE Portland. Things sounded pretty good when I talked to the recruiter last week. I hope today goes even better. If they do, I will have an interview in the office I’ll be working in sometime this week or next week. Fingers and toes crossed. One of my classmates from the Medical Assisting program already works there, so if I do get hired there I will already know one person. Hooray!

